Boating Education and Laws
Any motorized boat operator over 12 years old is required by Alabama law to pass a boater safety course and to carry a boater education card.
Note for Parents: PWC operators in Alabama must be at least twelve (12) years old, but cannot operate without adult supervision until at least fourteen (14) years of age.
Any person born on or after January 1, 1998, operating a motorized vessel is required by law to pass a boater safety course and to carry a boater education card.
Note for Parents: Persons 12 to 15 years of age may legally operate a PWC or vessel less than 16 feet in length if they have passed a boating education course approved by the DNR or are accompanied by a competent adult.
Information correct as of 7/1/2021